‘Gardens are a form of autobiography’.

 Gardening for a Lifetime

Sydney Eddison

If you have followed this blog for any length of time you will realise, I love walled gardens. If the family visit Culzean without me, they quite happily miss out the walled garden. Yes, I’m that predictable!

Several years ago we saw an advert for a walled garden, two acres, the gardener’s cottage built into the wall. We both allowed ourselves to get a little excited about it but life was busy and we didn’t make time to look. Several weeks later a friend and fellow ‘allotmenteer’ told me they had bought a walled garden and cottage. Smiling I told her I knew which one! Situated in the Clyde valley, traditionally the growing centre of Scotland, we listened enthusiastically (and enviously) to their dreams and plans.

Those of you who garden know just how much there is to do in a garden and seemingly how little can be achieved in a day. I ran around quickly trying to take it all in and being overwhelmed by the task in hand. As Sydney Eddison says “A garden is an autobiography.”  I was there to talk about Herbs (Yah, go me!) to the Smallholders group, so not feeling very relaxed, but so much took me back to my childhood and our own walled garden. Maybe that explains why I love old doors and brick walls. Standing in the sunny, sheltered garden, enjoying the sights and sounds, peeking inside the poly-tunnel filled with tomatoes and sweet corn, tasting homemade cider, going home with a handful of Spencer sweet peas… I’m happy our friends took on this garden, it will be their autobiography.

But it’s stopped raining and I have a half acre to tidy up! Have a good day!

 

 

