Shades Of Grey

Sometimes soft in silvered light…

Cloud therapy

Or washed with gold and purple hue…

July Sunset

Sunset comes and marks the hour ‘twixt day and night…

I must surely have enough sunsets to fill several albums but I cannot miss a sunset. Each night is a new performance; a concert of colours dancing on the sea and sky. An evening ritual, to watch the island descend in grey tones to the sea. The pinprick flash of the lighthouse beams across the water; a trawler making its way steadily along the coast, cry of seabirds. Whispering wind stirring the grass, a bedtime ritual as each creature returns to roost or nest…

But one small creature sleeps alone. For the last few weeks a downy crow nicknamed “Rookie” has hopped around the garden, keeping the chickens company, teasing the cat. Just hopping out of reach but never sitting long enough for a photo. Keeping to his morning ritual, joining the chickens for breakfast, hopping into the strawberry patch. Keeping one step ahead of the cat – but today we found him in the hedge, taking the cat in I meant to go back and check on him. By the time I’d remembered he had died. I guess he was a weak baby as his parents and sibling flew into the field but he stayed with us in the garden. I had hoped to tame him but alas. I’ll miss his cheeky presence.

~

Thanks for stopping by today and please forgive my lack of posts!

