Even Song

My life flows on in endless song;
Above earth’s lamentation
I hear the sweet though far off hymn
That hails a new creation:
Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear the music ringing;
It finds an echo in my soul—
How can I keep from singing?

Robert Lowry

(1860-1899)

A happy tiredness descends upon us; we have just experienced one of those glorious Spring days. The sun creeps over the eastern hills setting the sky alight and painting the western skies in bright sunrise. The garden is a picture as it glitters and twinkles in the early sunlight…

If my spirits slumped last week, my heart soars in the unexpected warmth as the frost melts away. An azure sky above, cloudless except for the contrails of jet aircraft heading off across the ocean. The thrush sits on the rook’s-rest and sings as if his heart would burst. As I work I discover how busy he has been in a pile of broken snail shells. Another voice catches my ear, the long-tailed tits have arrived to feed and sing out their song from the sycamore tree. With the increasing warmth I discard my scarf but keep my neoprene wellies on as the ground is cold!

After the long wet winter there is much to do! The veg patch needs more homemade compost added, fearing that it had never been warm enough I find Avocado stones sprouting and a harvest of new potatoes, realising this is also a winter larder for voles I leave plenty for them; keep a few for chitting, while the rest go to the kitchen. The day passes as I weed, clear, fill barrows with compost to add to the beds. By the end of the day I feel content at a job well done…

Golden Sunset

I confess I love poetry and old hymns; love the imagery and theology contained in them. In the city, most weekends would find me singing and playing my guitar, since we moved I haven’t really found my place. Last weekend we escaped to the city to have lunch with the “kids” (Mother’s Day) and catch up with friends at church, it was like going home. But this is home now and we long to share it with city bound friends, a place a peacefulness and tranquility.  As I worked in the garden an old hymn kept coming to mind, How can I keep from singing? How can I keep from singing? Even when life seems to be a long, journey home? Another lesson learned in the garden – lift up your voice and sing, the garden is overflowing with melodies, the past is gone, the future yet to come and today is the present!

Thanks for stopping by today, whatever the season of your soul – let go and sing!

 

