First flourish

I had hoped for a quiet start to Monday, put on the music, catch up with all the tasks left over from last week. But alas no, work on the porch continues with laying of the new floor, stone cutters and drill are the order off the day. Each day taking us nearer completion. Monday is another day to correct last weeks mistakes, e.g. missing harvests and finding the birds beat me to it, not getting out before the rain, too late to harvest the herbs. So a quick wander round the garden and a few snaps to remind me what needs done.

Milk Thistle

Milk Thistle (Carduus marianus) are looking particularly sharp!

White Borage

All the Borage (Borago officinalis ‘Alba’) is white; so was that genetic modification on my part as I didn’t let the blue seed but thought there must be some cross-pollination?

Roman chamomile

Aromatic Roman chamomile (Chamaemelum nobile) fills the air, I much prefer to use it in creams rather than the more powerful German chamomile (Matricaria chamomilla (LINN.)

Striped Sweet peas

Enjoying my bargain seeds, though ‘Cupani’ is by far my favourite, the striped and Spencer sweet peas are lovely.  Zinnias don’t really flourish in a Scottish garden though my African gardens were full of them, maybe in a warmer summer…

Rosa 'Compassion'

 The Roses have done well, Compassion just started to bloom. Looking forward to the arrival of ‘Shropshire Lad’  and ‘The Generous Gardener’ later in the year, a reminder of Mum.

First flourish

In spite of the cool spring and summer, there is still colour in the garden and more to come. Already planning two small gardens beside the porch but for now – better get on – looks like rain – AGAIN!

Thanks for dropping by have a good week

