Go, lovely rose,

Tell her that wastes her time and me,

That now she knows, 

When I resemble her to thee, 

How sweet and fair she seems to be.

Edmund Muller – Poems (1645)

~

How sweet the garden smells at eventide, when falls the sun and yet the summer ‘s warmth lingers in her perfume. I would happily fill the garden with roses, from the sweet simplicity of the wild rose and the burgeoning scent of the Apothecary’s rose. The gentle charm of New Dawn and Compassion roses. Sappho called her the “Queen of flowers”; Margaret McDonald Macintosh (one of the Glasgow Girls) filled her art works with stylised roses. Roses inspire both artists and poets alike.

In my little work room there are rose petals drying to be added later to bath mixes or herbal teas. Rose nurtures love, self-acceptance and trust; cooling, regulating and calming. It takes 60,000 roses to make 28g of rose otto; I think a rose syrup or rose water is more within my capability 🙂

As J. M. Barrie reminds us “God gave us a memory so that we might have roses in December

Thanks for stopping by today; take time to smell the roses or remember their understated beauty.

