not rushing away…

New Moon

Waiting in the garden for the evening star to shine, as it falls into line with the jaunty chimney and the crisp new moon.

Light upon the water

Watching the moonlight flood over the water, sending shafts of silver over the sleeping flowers…

Purple Honesty (Lunaria annua)

Enjoying the sunlight playing over the flowers…

Special moments caught on camera, shared with others but sometimes I need to just cherish the moment. Filling the kettle this morning, there on the bushes were, not one but three Bullfinches, resplendent in their orange-red garb. Two females and a male, in the background a goldfinch, to the fore; a tired looking sparrow.

Did I savour the moment? No, I rushed to get the camera knowing full well that by the time I had returned the moment was lost. A brief moment in time, not even inscribed on my memory. We have become an Instagram nation (yes, you can find the Hopeful Herbalist there too) capturing and sharing. Last year in Venice, where it was not permitted to take photography, phones and tablets were being used to capture – well almost everything! I know, I should just look and soak up the moment…

Having been dutiful and obeyed all the orders not to take photos; eventually I was permitted to but took only one. Feeling like a naughty child, I had not the presence of mind to photograph the artist information but I loved little girl’s face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn Venice it is easy to become all “arted-out” as every major building is awash with Grand Masters! Maybe we need to give ourselves permission to “stand and stare”; to cherish each moment and let memories sink down deep.

Thanks for stopping by – enjoy creating memories today!

