Arran on a frosty morn

“How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains”

John Muir

One of the most beautiful books I have read was “The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twang Eng, invoking the art of Japanese gardening, the back drop to recovering a painful past.

As I stand in my half-acre garden, with its views over the Firth of Clyde, a back drop of beech trees and stand of pines, I feel they need included in the design. I love the idea of Shakkei-“borrowed landscape” – studying the landscape to take advantage of all favourable aspects.

Various gifts of plants  are still waiting to find their final setting; as I dig I find myself looking around for a suitable area, bearing in mind the fierce winds, frost hollows and the lie of the land sloping as it does to the north east…Sunset skyscape As the sun journeys north the dying rays reach deeper into the garden, filling the far corners. The sound of water; from a gentle chatter to wild roar, or of the wind whispering in the leaves to the howling gale. The texture and fragrance of the plantings; music of bird song. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the enormity of the task…

Evening rains at sea

The changing light and shade over the land; our belligerent Scottish weather, from thunderous rain to soft drizzle. Hot sunny days to frost all within twenty four hours! The glorious night sky when the moon pours a lullaby over the silvered garden opening to frosted morn…Visited by frost...

In the shadowed garden

scattered moonlight,

bestows a silvered tracery.

~

