Listen…

Shorter days...

The clocks went back on Sunday a reminder that winter is on its way; slipping readily into Winter mode, up at 6:30 a.m. and early to bed. Close the curtains at sunset, light the fire, put on the lamps. Time for root stews and beans, hot chocolate, herbal tea and warming soups. So many of my friends are already dreading the “dark days” of winter knowing they will get a little sad or SAD. Depression is the Cinderella of the health service, often over-looked and misunderstood by family, friends and colleagues.

After returning from East Africa with its equal days and nights, adjusting to long drab days and even longer dark nights; it took some time before I recognised SAD (seasonal affected disorder). I behaved like the hamster, filling up on carbohydrates, wanting to keep warm and not venture outside, I was preparing for hibernation. (How I managed to work nights missing out on all daylight is still a bit of a mystery!) Eventually realising what was happening I took action, bought a SAD lamp, cut down on the carbs and went outside any time the sun shone.

I don’t need my lamp any more, try not to stuff myself with biscuits and cake, drink plenty of warm water and get outside between 10 am & 2 pm. Depression is a bummer and no amount of cajoling can make you “snap out of it” nor does “counting your blessings” ‘cos you can’t see them! So if you or someone you love is feeling low, listen; we don’t need fixed, just listened too and supported through it. Be their little light in the darkness…

This little light...

Have a great day, wrap up warm and look out for each other!

My sister sent this video, we can all do something no matter how small, enjoy

(If you feel you or someone you know is really struggling encourage them to speak to a healthcare professional)

