Walking in the garden with my lover,

I was distracted by a rose.

My love scolded me, saying

“How could you look at a rose

with my face so close?”

Rumi – Whispers of the Beloved

~

Roses are breaking bud in the warm June days. From the simple wild rose (Rosa canina) with their gentle fragrance to the heady Apothecary’s roses (Rosa gallica). Some appear in the mixed hedges, unplanned but welcome additions. The climbing roses are only just beginning to put on growth, “Leaping Salmon” and “New Dawn”, while the peach blossom of the floribunda rose “Burma Star” draws the gardener to drink in its sweet scent. Who would not wish for a rose garden to wander aimlessly with a loved one?

As the Ayrshire Bard wrote;

O my Luve’s like a red, red rose, 
That’s newly sprung in June: 
O my Luve’s like the melodie, 
That’s sweetly play’d in tune. 

Robert Burns

~

May your garden be blessed with fragrant roses!

