OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dressed in tulle and sparkling sequins, the sea throws back the silver light of evening, a benign end to a driech day! My Grandmother had a saying; “Sun before seven, rain after eleven!”

Five o’clock sunrise painted the skies in orange and pink, house filled with bright sunshine, head out to feed chickens, cut the grass, plan some weeding… With no need of a time-piece, cue rain; ending the grass cutting session, settling down to a steady pace till late afternoon. Optimistically, grab the strimmer to finish the job. Come back in almost immediately to apply lavender, try again…  Swift return for some English Chamomile; in again to grab;  well, anything that might deter them! Even “Coco”.

Of course I’m writing about the formidable Scottish MIDGE! The past few warm, wet days seems to have encouraged an explosion in the population, even the cat is scratching. Giving up, I left hubby to finish the grass cutting and slunk inside to nurse my numerous bites.

Really do need to look out my recipes for midge repellent, take my vitamin B complex, eat more garlic – stay indoors? The view is pretty good from inside.

Post Script: my room is filled with the heady aroma of essential oils. I guess it’s a case of  “cobbler’s shoes”, I have everything I need to make remedies and never quite get around to it! So have liberated my notebook to look up recipes for Midge repellent.

The best essential oils are Eucalyptus and Geranium but Lemongrass, Thyme, Lavender, Peppermint, Basil, Cedar wood, Clove bud and Lemon are equally useful.

So my “Midgee” Spray contains: Eucalyptus globulus (Bluegum), Lemongrass (Cymbopogon citratus), Spearmint (Mentha spicata),- didn’t have any peppermint,Geranium (Pelargonium graveolens), Lavender (Lavandula angustifolia), Citronella (Cymbopogon nardus),Juniper (Juniperus communis) and because I’m of a certain age, a couple of drops of Patchouli  (Pogostemon cablin) . In 30 ml boiled cooled water.

Essential oils are very potent so you only need a couple of drops of each and remember that anyone can be allergic to anything at anytime so always patch test it on the inside of your forearm! 

I think I smell delightful and will feel as smug as hubby did, cutting the grass unabashed, because he had midge spray 🙂

