Monday, misty, moist and soft rain covers the morning. The greenhouse needs ventilated and the bigger plants set out in the rain. For the past few days, two small wraith-like creatures slip in and out of my vision. I think I imagine it, but these small “pheasants” seem to skulk around the shed before disappearing down the bank beside the burn. Whirring wings, strange call, odd pheasants I think…

But then the “dunny” explodes into a cacophony of noise, creeping up I look inside – nothing but stacked wood. Carefully I steal around the side and there sitting on the wall, looking at me, looking at him – a Partridge! Well – as I’ve said before; “every gooseberry bush needs a partridge!” Β And no – I didn’t have my camera!

After lunch the sun shone, the garden weeded, plants moved, re-planted, but no sign of the Partridge pair. The hedges have unfurled their leaves, Angelica and Californian Poppy seedlings are growing nicely. Robin pulls up the onions – AGAIN! So they get settled back in… Just another day in the garden that never ceases to surprise….

(Plants: Honesty (Lunaria annua), Lungwort (Pulmonaria officinalis), Lesser celandine (Ranunculus ficaria), Box (Buxus sempervirens), Granny’s bonnet (Aquilegia vulgaris)

