IMG_1602

If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time you’ll know we moved from the city to live near the sea. We have spectacular views and it has been a wonderfully sunny summer. I try hard to be good, wear high factor sun cream, don’t work in the garden between 10 and 2, wear a wide brimmed hat. My sunglasses are just bog standard but I thought I was doing alright. Right? Wrong! 

Following a routine eye check I was referred to the hospital as I had a “speck” on my retina, very near the “business part” of the eye. After several weeks wait; was seen yesterday and surprised to be asked “have you looked at an eclipse?” An eclipse? In Scotland? Chances are it’s raining! Apart from occasional irritated eye, a bit blurry, a bit dry and needing new glasses I was no wiser…

So having read up this morning here are some little bits of wisdom to prevent you doing the same thing…

  • Hats only protect from overhead sun
  • Sunglasses with no UV protection can make matters worse as they dilate the pupils and don’t protect the eyes.
  • Glare from reflected sun on the sea is still at a really high percentage
  • Sunlight is most damaging before 10 in the morning and after 2 in the afternoon

Now wiser and chastened I intend to wear UV 400 sunglasses, watch out for the glare when I ponder the view and always keep my back to the sun when I garden. I’m just very grateful not to have macular degeneration (too young) and that my eye is healing but will always be scarred.

Life’s Lesson learned today: you only get one pair of eyes look after them…

