It has finally stopped raining. I know I shouldn’t complain, 2013 has been an exceptional year weather wise, but it has made the garden quite unpredictable! On the other hand I’m still enjoying sweet peas and sunflowers. Some of the plants are still “sulking” after the move, some don’t seem to have set seed at all. The Hostas have already turned into pale, translucent shadows of their former selves. I’ll have to do a rethink for a few herbs and move others as they were put into the nearest prepared space rather than the best place. Next years list is already growing long….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did manage a small harvest of Calendula (Calendula officinalis) and St John’s wort (Hypericum perforatum) to make some herbal oils.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SJW is traditionally harvested 24th June (St John’s Day); in Scotland it’s usually a month later but this year it was well into August.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The calendula was picked on a dry day after the dew had dried.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then packed into a clean jar and covered with organic sunflower oil and left to sit in the sun. Later the oil was passed through a sieve and filtered into a bottle. I use the oils in creams and salves for itchy skin conditions (cuts, stings, allergies, rashes).  I love the deep red of the St John’s wort and the deep yellow of the calendula.

